States of Malaysia – Perak

States of Malaysia – PerakPerak, one of the 13 states of Malaysia, is the second largest state in Peninsular Malaysia bordering Kedah and Yala Province of Thailand to the north, Penang to the northwest, Kelantan and Pahang to the east, Selangor to the south and the Straits of Malacca to the west.

Perak means silver in Malay. The name comes probably from the silvery colour of tin. In the 1890s, Perak, with the richest alluvial deposits of tin in the world was one of the jewels in the crown of the British Empire. However, some say the name comes from the “glimmer of fish in the water” that sparkled like silver. The Arabic honorific of the State is Darul Ridzuan, the Land of Grace. Ipoh, the state capital of Perak, was known historically for its tin-mining activities until the price of tin dropped, which severely affected the state economy. The royal capital, however, is set in Kuala Kangsar, where the palace of the Sultan of Perak is located.

Perak Royal Museum

Kellie’s Castle

Perak Tong in Ipoh

Ubudiah Mosque

Source: Google Images

P.S I – Unusual Hotel Beds
P.S II – Walk Above Clouds In Langkawi.
P.S III – Flying First Class – PART 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.