States of Malaysia – Sarawak

States of Malaysia – Sarawak - Sarawak is one of two Malaysian states on the island of Borneo. Known as Bumi Kenyalang (“Land of the Hornbills”), Sarawak is situated on the northwest of the island, bordering the Malaysian state of Sabah to the northeast, Indonesia to the south, and surrounding Brunei. It is the largest state in Malaysia. The administrative capital is Kuching, which has a population of 658,562. Major cities and towns include Miri, Sibu and Bintulu. As of the last census (2010), the state population was 2,420,009.

Tourism plays a major role in the state’s economy. In 2010 Sarawak was visited by 3,270,655 tourists, both international and domestic. As for 2011, the state is targeting 4 million visitors. This is in line with more direct flights from countries such as Japan and South Korea. The Sarawak Hornbill Tourism Award is held each year to appreciate the best in the tourism sector of the state. Some of the most popular tourist attractions are Kuching city, Gunung Mulu National Park, the Rainforest World Music Festival (RWMF) and many more. The RWMF is the region’s premier “world music” event, attracting more than 20,000 music fans.

Mulu Cave

Dewan Undangan Negeri Sarawak

Sarawak’s Kolok Mee

Sarawak Traditional Clothings

Kuching, Sarawak

Source: Google Images

P.S I – Hello Kitty Cafe in Korea
P.S II – Wedding With The Penguins at Underwater World Langkawi.
P.S III – Beautiful Istanbul

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.